What do I want to be when I grow up?

Hey, I decided today to talk about what it was that i was aiming for in the gaming industry. I’ve been a long time fan of the Bethesda games such as The Elder Scrolls and the recent Fallout games, and I’ve always loved the way the environment tells a story and engages a player.

I have always wanted to be a level designer for video games because it gives me control of how a game flows, how a player can view and experience elements inside a game. From working in the G.E.C.K, the engine design toolset for Fallout 3, I’ve come to realise how much freedom I can get from designing a level to tell a story to the player. I enjoyed adding minute details to the game space and adding in triggers for specific events.

At Bethesda its highly reccomended to have a mind for creative writing and I’ve been writing for the majority of my life (despite how old I am) and its just something I like to do.

In short, I like to use assets given to me or I’ve asked for, to create a game space that is engaging because without a level designer a game is an asset soup that has no real way to demonstrate its mechanics and I like to create my own story inside another known Universe. From lighting to Navmeshing, I want with every fibre of my body want to work at bethesda Game Studios to have my hand in creating a game space that will be enjoyed by millions.

So yeah, thats me, I’m not particularly interesting, I just really want to tell my own story.

Leave a Reply

